Collinsville, Oklahoma
January 26, 2008
Chamber Banquet
Chamber of Commerce Annual Installation And Awards Banquet
Babbitt Is 2008 President
Rep. Sears Was Keynote Speaker
This web site is brought to you by the Newspaper Museum In Collinsville and the other advertisers appearing on these pages. If you would like to provide news content or advertisements ... call Ted Wright (918) 371-1901 or
send email to
1110 W. Main, Collinsville, OK 74021
(email questions/comments to
Ted Wright -- last update 1/28/2008 (ChamberBanquet.html)

Copyright 2008 -- Collinsville, Oklahoma

This page sponsored in part by
Chamber of Commerce Member:
(With Recent Obituaries)

Newly Remodeled Facilities at 13th & Main

Jim R. Dolton
Funeral Director/Owner

Melvin Lowe - Funeral Director
Christy Harris - Funeral Director
Mary Blythe - Office Manager-Collinsville Funeral Home
Betty Littler - Office Manager-Oologah Funeral Home

We Accept All Pre-Arrangements

2007 Chamber Awards Recipients

Ambassador Award: In appreciation of outstanding representation of Collinsville in a positive light outside the community.

Ted Wright
Bill Johnston

Community Service Award: In appreciation of contributions and dedication to the community.

Friends of Collinsville Library (FOCL)
Friends of Collinsville Animal Shelter (FOCAS)
Steve Branen
Dr. Susan Babbitt
City of Collinsville
Verdigris Valley Electric Authority
Bob Osborn

Education Award: In appreciation of dedication to the education of our youth.

Donna Sears
Roger Prickett
Kathy Prickett
Kelly Hamlin
Bob Pratt

Gold Key Award: For making a substantial investment in our community.

Mo's Corner
The Rock Gym
Cardinal Corner
Mid-Continent Concrete
CloseBend, Inc.

Youth Award: In appreciation of time and effort with the youth of our community.

Tommy Seale
Early Childhood Center P.T.O.
P.E.O. Chapter X
Home Representative Club
David Means
Ronn Badertscher
Code Red

President's Award: In appreciation of support of the Chamber.

Dr. Tim Prock
State Rep. Earl Sears
Beth Ann Langston
Marilyn Hardacre

Member of the Year Award: For going above and beyond the call of duty in service to the Chamber.

Cory Slagle

Out-going Chamber of Commerce President Terry Due handed off the gavel to Dr. Susan Babbitt who will steer the Collinsville Chamber in 2008.
State Representative Earl Sears addressed the following 3 key topics: Oklahoma's Centennial, Education and Community Service
Representative Earl Sears donated $500 to the Collinsville Library (accepted by Susan Babbitt)
Cory Slagle (CHS Principal) was selected by the other chamber members as Member of the Year.
Representative Sears (a former educator) stressed that "our children are our future" and that Collinsville is fortunate to have outstanding students, teachers and administrators.
Rep. Sears donated $1000 to the Collinsville Education Foundation to make Louise Brazeal a lifetime member in honor of her 41 years teaching in Collinsville. CEF President Bill Thomas accepted the check as Louise got a handshake.
Rep. Sears read (and presented to city officials) a citation from the Oklahoma Legislature praising the volunteer effort of Collinsville individuals and organizations that participated in the Jan. 12th brush collection day. [Note: that effort will be repeated Feb. 2nd. ... report to CHS at 7am again]
The oath for the 2008 Chamber officers was given by Phil Ostrander (center, MC for the banquet) to L-R: Billie Francis (Secretary-Treasurer), Donnie Hutchinson (Vice-President), Dr. Susan Babbitt (President) and Cory Slagle (President-Elect).
Terry Due gave his farewell address after leading the Chamber in 2007. The chamber's successful year is documented on this site and the chamber's web site.
Dr. Babbitt outlined two programs already planned for the 2008 Chamber: 1) "Buy Collinsville" which will promote local businesses and increase our tax base and 2) short merchant presentations at the regular monthly luncheon meetings. Susan recognized the chamber board members and said any member with ideas was welcome to attend board meetings.
This group represents most of the "Community Service" award winners
A representative for Mid-Continent Concrete accepted their Gold Key Award from Terry Due.
Education Award winners
Bob Cottingim (for Code Red) and ?? accepted Youth Awards
Helen Murphy accepted a Youth Award for the Home Representative Club.
Rev. Tommy Seale accepted a Youth Award
The 2008 Awards & Installation Banquet's theme was "Promoting Education Through Partnership Beetween Schools & Community". The event was held at the High School Commons and the meal was served by "Delightful Bites". Earl Sears also presented a $1000 check to the city to support the brush collection volunteer effort.
Beth Ann Langston, Dr. Tim Prock, Rep. Earl Sears (& Marilyn Hardacre not in photo) were selected by Terry Due for the President's Award.